The new edition features all seven songs from the band’s album release show in New York last month

The Rolling Stones 2023 Mark Seliger Hackney Diamonds
The Rolling Stones [Mark Seliger]

Last month, The Rolling Stones released their acclaimed new album, Hackney Diamonds. The record hit No. 1 in 19 countries around the globe, and features the GRAMMY®-nominated single, “Angry.” After announcing their North American stadium tour last week, the band has confirmed a forthcoming expanded release of their latest studio effort.

On October 19, The Stones played a secret club show in New York City to launch the release of their new record. The invitation-only gig took place at Racket NYC (formerly Highline Ballroom). There were approximately 650 people at the show. Among those reportedly in attendance were GRAMMY® Award winners Elvis Costello and Diana Krall, Oscar-winning actress Rachel Weisz (The Constant GardenerThe Mummy), comedian and actor Chris Rock, actress and entrepreneur Mary-Kate Olsen, and star of the 007 franchise, actor Daniel Craig.

The band played a brief seven-song that began with “Shattered” from 1978’s Some Girls. The debuted their new album’s lead single “Angry” next. They would also play “Whole Wide World” and “Bite My Head Off” from the new record. The Stones also treated fans to performances of their classic hits “Tumbling Dice” and “Jumpin’ Jack Flash.”

For the encore, they played another new song, “Sweet Sounds of Heaven” for the very first time. The track, from their new album, features none other than GRAMMY® Award winners Lady Gaga and Stevie Wonder. To the surprise of all in attendance, Lady Gaga joined The Stones on stage for the performance.

Now, The Stones have confirmed an expanded release of Hackney Diamonds on CD. The double-disc edition features the original album, plus recordings from their entire live performance of their exclusive album release show at Racket NYC in New York last month. The new edition features a 24-page booklet with live photos from the performance. It slated for release on January 19, 2024, and is available for pre-order now. Check out the full tracklisting below.

Their 23rd original studio effort, Hackney Diamonds will also be The Rolling Stones’ first album without founding drummer Charlie Watts who passed away at 80 in August of 2021. During a live-streaming event hosted by The Tonight Show‘s Jimmy Fallon, the band revealed that two tracks on the album – “Mess It Up” and “Live by the Sword” – were recorded in 2019 with Watts on drums.

“Ever since Charlie’s gone, it’s different,” guitarist Keith Richards said during the event. “He’s ‘Number Four.’”

The Rolling Stones 2024 tour dates
The Rolling Stones [Javier Bragado/Redferns]

The Stones have been rolling out all the stops for promoting Hackney Diamonds. The band curated a special merchandise line featuring Hackney Diamonds t-shirts, hoodies, a bomber jacket, a diamond-shaped whiskey glass, vinyl record drink coasters, an album lithograph, and much more. The Rolling Stones have also linked up with fashion designer Paul Smith to curate a special collection surrounding their new record. The exclusive line features three t-shirts, and a limited edition Hackney Diamonds vinyl LP with an alternate cover designed by Paul himself. On October 18, The Rolling Stones began opening pop-up versions of their London retail shop, RS No. 9, around the globe in New York, Los Angeles, and Tokyo.

Last week, The Stones continued to celebrate the release of their new album by revealing their very own rum – Crossfire Hurricane. The 80 proof Caribbean blend incorporates rums from Jamaica, Barbados, and the Dominican Republic that are perfectly aged for five years in carefully selected French oak barrels with a hint of caramelized bananas. The Stones have been in the liquor business for quite some time. In 2012, the band collaborated with Suntory to release a rare blend of Japanese whiskeys to celebrate the band’s 50th anniversary. The limited batch including a 50 year-old Yamazaki, which now re-sells for tens of thousands of dollars. In 2016, Jose Cuervo released a limited edition guitar case full of 250 Anniversario to commemorate the night back in 1972 when The Stones were introduced to the Tequila Sunrise at The Trident Bar in Sausalito, California, just before the launch of their 1972 U.S. tour.

Next year, The Rolling Stones are returning to the road. Their North American stadium tour will see frontman Mick Jagger, guitarist Keith Richards, and guitarist Ronnie Wood perform at stadiums across the continent. Produced by AEG and Concerts West, The Hackney Diamonds Tour kicks off on April 28, 2024 at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas, and wraps up on July 17 at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California. The run includes stops in Los Angeles, Chicago, Orlando, Atlanta, and more.

In addition to their tour dates, The Rolling Stones will headline the 2024 New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival in New Orleans, Louisiana on May 2.

In 2020, The Rolling Stones were forced to cancel their No Filter Tour in America due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The dates were rescheduled, slated to start in September 0f 2021. After the death of Charlie Watts, who sat behind The Stones’ kit for more than half a century, the band decided to go ahead with the tour. The band’s longtime musical director Steve Jordan stepped in to play drums, at the request of Watts ahead of his passing.

The Rolling Stones Hackney Diamonds Expanded Edition live tracks

Disc 1 – Hackney Diamonds
1. Angry
2. Get Close (feat. Elton John)
3. Depending on You
4. Bite My Head Off (feat.Paul McCartney)
5. Whole Wide World
6. Dreamy Skies
7. Mess It Up (with Charlie Watts)
8. Live by the Sword (with Charlie Watts, feat. Elton John, Bill Wyman)
9. Driving Me Too Hard
10. Tell Me Straight
11. Sweet Sounds of Heaven (feat. Stevie Wonder, Lady Gaga)
12. Rolling Stone Blues

Disc 2 – Live at Racket, NYC
1. Shattered (Live at Racket, NYC)
2. Angry (Live at Racket, NYC)
3. Whole Wide World (Live at Racket, NYC)
4. Tumbling Dice (Live at Racket, NYC)
5. Bite My Head Off (Live at Racket, NYC)
6. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (Live at Racket, NYC)
7. Sweet Sounds of Heaven (feat. Lady Gaga) (Live at Racket, NYC)

Pre-order now HERE