Tommy Lee Smashing PumpkinsWith retirement from Mötley Crüe coming in the imminent future, drummer Tommy Lee seems to be taking a page out of fellow drummer Dave Grohl’s playbook – get your hands on as many projects as you can. Lee’s first new gig? Playing drums for The Smashing Pumpkins. The band is set to release two brand new studio albums in 2015, one of which being Monuments to an Elegy. Smashing Pumpkins frontman Billy Corgan has confirmed that Lee has finished the first round of tracking for all nine songs on the album. The official track listing can be seen below. The Smashing Pumpkins will also be releasing Day for Night. There’s no word yet on whether Lee (or anyone else) will be involved in the recording proccess. As far as what fans can expect from the albums, Corgan has previously stated, ”For those interested in sound, think: ‘guitars, guitars, guitars, and more guitars;’ but more so on the epic side of things than say, grossly metallic.” The band hopes to drop a new single some time later this year.

The Smashing Pumpkins have sold approximately 20 million albums worldwide. TheSmashing Pumpkins 2012 band’s breakthrough record, 1993′s Siamese Dream. The album went on to be certified 6x platinum, and was ranked in #360 in Rolling Stone Magazine’s 500 Greatest Albums of All-Time. The band’s 1995 double-disc follow-up, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200. After two more LPs, the band broke up in 2000, and reunited 6 years later. In 2007, the Smashing Pumpkins made a triumphant return with their first album in 7 years, Zeitgeist, which hit #2 on the Billboard Top 200.  In 2012, the band released Oceania, which debuted at #4 on the Billboard Top 200, and produced two hit singles. The band toured extensively on 2012 and 2013 and since 2009, they have been digitally releasing tracks from their massive concept album, Teargarden by Kaleidyscope.

Motley band 2014For 33 years, Mötley Crüe have embodied all that is excess in rock ‘n’ roll. They exploded onto the Sunset Strip in the early ’80′s with their raw-as-hell debut album, Too Fast For Love, in 1981. The band achieved their greatest commercial success in the late ’80′s with 1987′s Girls, Girls, Girls, which hit #2 on the Billboard Top 200. The follow-up, 1989′s Dr. Feelgood, debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200 and spawned five huge huge hit singles. Both albums are now certified over 7x platinum. Throughout their legendary career, The Crüe have garnered three Grammy Award nominations and four American Music Award nominations. They won the American Music Award for Favorite Hard Rock/Metal Album in 1990 for Dr. Feelgood. In 2006, the band received their Star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. Mötley Crüe are one of the best-selling artists of all time, with over 80 million records sold worldwide. The band’s last album, 2008′s Saints of Los Angeles, debuted at #4 on the Billboard Top 200 and sold approximately 100,000 copies in it’s first week of sales. On July 2, Mötley Crüe will kick off their Final Tour with very special guest Alice Cooper at the Van Andel Arena in Grand Rapids, MI. The group’s touring career will officially end on November 22 at Spokane Arena in Spokane, WA – by Matt Bishop (@The_MattBishop)

Tommy Lee Smashing Pumpkins

Monuments of an Elegy

1. Being Beige (World’s on Fire)
2. Anti-Hero
3. Tiberius
4. Run to Me
5. One and All
6. Drum and Life
7. Dorian
8. Monuments
9. Anaise

About Matt Bishop

Welcome to the Revival of rock 'n' roll music. The way you used to hear rock, see rock, and feel rock is going to be shattered into a million pieces, reassembled, and revived. Dive into the realm of rock with interviews, concert coverage, and breaking news that make the music seem real again - in your ears, in your mind, and right in front of your very eyes. You'll feel the cool steel of the guitar strings and the smooth wood grain of the drum sticks right in your hands, all with the echoes of reverb in your head. This is the way rock was supposed to be experienced. Welcome to the Revival of rock 'n' roll music.
Bookmark the permalink.