Home Rock News Porcupine Tree Release First New Song In 12 Years

Porcupine Tree Release First New Song In 12 Years

Porcupine Tree

The band also confirmed their long-awaited forthcoming album

Porcupine Tree [Alex Lake]

English progressive rockers Porcupine Tree are back with their first new song in over a decade. The band has revealed “Harrigan” which can be streamed below. It is the lead single from the band’s forthcoming album Closure/Continuation which is slated to arrive on June 24, 2022 via Music For Nations/Megaforce Records.

It is the band’s first studio outing since 2009’s The Incident.

“‘Harridan’ and a few of the other new songs have been in play since shortly after the release of The Incident,” reveals the band. “They initially lived on a hard drive in a slowly growing computer file marked PT2012, later renamed PT2015, PT2018, and so on. There were times when we even forgot they were there, and times when they nagged us to finish them to see where they would take us.”

They continue, “Listening to the finished pieces, it was clear that this wasn’t like any of our work outside of the band – the combined DNA of the people behind the music meant these tracks were forming what was undeniably, unmistakably, obviously a Porcupine Tree record. You’ll hear all of that DNA flowing right through ‘Harridan.’”

The new album will be available on CD, black vinyl 2×12” LP, white vinyl 2×12” LP, transparent blue vinyl 2×12” LP, and white cassette. In addition, a limited audiophile deluxe LP will also be available, cut at 45rpm on 3×12” clear vinyl in 12” slipcase box with two bonus tracks; a limited audiophile deluxe CD in 12” slipcase box will include the standard CD, a second disc with three bonus tracks and instrumentals, Blu-ray disc with 5.1/Dolby Atmos and HD audio versions of the album, and an exclusive album art book. Fans can pre-order the album now HERE.

Check out the album artwork below.

Additionally, Porcupine Tree are hitting the road next fall on a European tour.

The full itinerary can be found below, and ticket information is available now HERE.

October 21 – Berlin, DE @ Max Schmelinghalle
October 23 – Vienna, AU @ Gasometer
October 24 – Milan, IT @ Forum
October 27 – Stockholm, SW @ Globe
October 28 – Copenhagen, DK @ Falkoner Theatre
October 30 – Katowice, PO @ Spodek Hall
November 2 – Paris, FR @ Le Zenith
November 4 – Stuttgart, DE @ Porsche Arena
November 6 – Oberhausen, DE @ KP Arena
November 7 – Amsterdam, NL @ Ziggodome
November 9 – Zurich, CH @ Halle 622
November 11 – London, UK @ SSE Arena, Wembley