The 72 Seasons song made its debut at last night in New Jersey

Last night, the mighty Metallica kicked off the highly anticipated North American leg of their M72 World Tour at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey. The unique tour features a No Repeat Weekend – two shows with two entirely different setlist, with no repeated tracks. Last night, the band “Shadows Follow” live for the very first time. The song is from the band’s acclaimed new album, 72 Seasons. Check out the pro-shot footage above.

In addition to debuting “Shadows Follow,” Metallica put together a bruising set that featured but hits like “Creeping Death,” “Battery,” “Sad but True,” “Seek & Destroy,” and “Master of Puppets,” among others. They also pulled out a few rare gems like “Harvester of Sorrow,” “Holier Than Thou, “King Nothing,” and the coveted instrumental “Orion.” See the full setlist below.

With no songs being repeated in a single weekend, it’s hard to imagine that a song or two might make their way out of the Metallica vault on this tour. Fans didn’t have to wait long, as “Shadows Follow” was the first track to get its live debut on this run. Despite relentlessly touring for over 40 years and being the only band to perform on all seven continents, Metallica still have a solid amount of songs that have never seen the lights of the stage. Now, we can scratch “Shadows Follow” off the list, but there’s still plenty more tracks that Metallica can surprise fans with on this North American tour leg.

Metallica’s M72 World Tour kickoff concludes tomorrow with the band’s second show at MetLife Stadium. This time, the gig will feature support from Five Finger Death Punch and Ice Nine Kills. The trek continues next weekend at Stade Olympique in Montreal, Quebec.

In October, Metallica are performing at Power Trip in Indio, California alongside fellow rock icons Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Guns N’ Roses, AC/DC, and Tool.

Metallica’s eleventh studio album 72 Seasons arrived on April 14 via the band’s own label, Blackened Recordings. Produced by Greg Fidelman with frontman James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich, 72 Seasons is Metallica’s first full length collection of new material since 2016’s Hardwired…To Self-Destruct. The 12-track album clocks in at just over 77 minutes. It was released in formats including 2LP 140-gram black vinyl and limited edition variants, CD and digital download.

Metallica setlist MetLife Stadium New Jersey Night One August 4