It is the band’s first new record since 2008

Extreme band 2023
Extreme [Jesse Lirola]

Extreme are back with a brand new studio album. The group will release SIX on June 9 via earMUSIC. It is the long awaited follow-up to 2008’s Saudades de Rock. Watch the official music video for the first single “Rise” below now, which was directed by lead guitarist Nuno Bettencourt.

“Musically, it’s aggressive,” says frontman Gary Cherone about album opener “Rise.” “Lyrically, it’s a cautionary tale on the rise and fall of fame. You get seduced into it. Once you’re on top, they’ll rip you apart and tear you down. That’s the nature of the beast.”

In addition to directing the music video for “Rise,” Bettencourt also produced the record.

“When Eddie Van Halen passed, it really hit me,” shares Nuno. “I’m not going to be the one who will take the throne, but I felt some responsibility to keep guitar playing alive. So, you hear a lot of fire on the record.”

The new album SIX will be available on black vinyl, limited edition marbled red and black vinyl, limited edition transparent red vinyl, CD digipak, and digital download. Fans can pre-order all editions and album merchandise now HERE. Click HERE to pre-save on streaming services.

Recently, Extreme’s music has appeared in the cult series Bill & Ted as well as the Netflix juggernaut Stranger Things. They’ve sold 10 million records, topped the Billboard Hot 100 at #1, packed major venues on multiple continents. In 1992, the band performed at the Freddie Mercury Tribute Concert at Wembley Stadium in London. Today, they regularly average over 5 million monthly listeners on Spotify.

“With Extreme, there’s always a lot of passion and a little piss and vinegar,” Cherone says. “We’re not in competition with anybody else, but we strive to outdo ourselves. There are some moments on this album where we did. We’ve managed to stay together after all of these years. We feel like we have something to prove when we get on stage or in the studio. Because of that, I believe some of these songs are among the best we’ve written.”

“Whatever you think an Extreme album is after two or even three songs, it’s not,” Nuno adds. “That goes for every record we’ve ever done. True Extreme fans know to ‘expect the unexpected.’  I feel like we need a good old school rock album. Six is definitely modern, but you can put on headphones and go on a journey from top-to-bottom. It’s like ‘Extreme 2.0.’”

Extreme band new album SIX

Extreme – SIX [earMUSIC, 2023]

1. Rise
2. #Rebel
3. Banshee
4. Other Side of the Rainbow
5. Small Town Beautiful
6. The Mask
7. Thicker Than Blood
8. Save Me
9. Hurricane
10. X Out
11. Beautiful Girls
12. Here’s to the Losers