The record arrives on October 13

Beartooth 2023

Beartooth are back with a brand new studio album. The band confirmed Friday plans to release their fifth full-length effort The Surface on October 13 via Red Bull Records. It is the highly anticipated follow-up to 2021’s Below which hit No. 2 on Billboard’s Top Hard Rock Albums chart. Beartooth also revealed another single from the forthcoming LP called “Might Love Myself.” Stream the official music video below now.

“Beartooth’s entire discography has been snapshots of my inner monologue and emotional state over the years with a recurring theme: depression and self-loathing,” says frontman Caleb Shomo. “It’s been tough to understand why I’ve felt the way I do for so long. During the pandemic, I was faced with two distinct paths in life. One — I continue doing nothing to manage the realities of my mental health and continue down a path of self-destruction, ultimately ending in my demise. Two — choose to do the work needed to maintain a healthier relationship with myself, no matter how difficult or painful.”

He continues, “This album is the story of my beginnings in the new world I’ve created for myself. One focused on health, self love, positivity, understanding, hard work, and most of all second chances. At the end of the day, life is short for all of us. We can’t escape the end, so why not make friends with it and live in a world focused on living a personally fulfilling life.”

Beartooth’s forthcoming fifth album contains eleven all-new songs including the previously released “Riptide” and “Sunshine!” The record will be available on silver and pink splattered vinyl, pink galaxy vinyl, limited edition signed long box CD, and digital download. In celebration of the album’s release, the band has also curated a new merchandise line featuring t-shirts, long-sleeved tees, hoodies, sweatpants, screen-printed album poster, Zippo lighter, and more.

Fans can pre-order the album and merchandise now HERE.

When explaining the band’s new song “Might Love Myself,” Shomo elaborated, “I truly believe mental health starts with a healthy relationship with one’s self. Self-love was something I never believed would be a part of my life. I would focus on my depression and my sadness, believing those part of me were always the most prominent in my mind. But through hard work comes results. Self-love had to be a choice; it can’t be an emotion. Emotions are fleeting and can change with a sunset or a single word. Choosing to put your own health (mentally and physically) as the highest priority in your life has been the only path I’ve found to self love. It helped me realize what I’m capable of, how strong I am, and that progress is more important than any immediate fix to my emotions. This song is about the first moment I realized something was significantly shifting in my life.”

Beartooth are currently in the midst of a co-headlining tour in Australia alongside Pierce The Veil, which wraps up on July 29 at The Fortitude Music Hall in Brisbane. From there, the band has featured slots lined up at several festivals across Europe. They will be appearing at Metal Days, Wacken Open Air, Brutal Assault, Reload Festival, and more. In September, they return to North America for an appearance at Blue Ridge Rock Festival in Virginia.

Last year, Beartooth collaborated with Papa Roach for a new version of their song “Cut the Line” which was featured on the deluxe release of their album Ego Trip.

Beartooth The Surface album cover vinyl

Beartooth – The Surface [Red Bull Records, 2023]

  1. The Surface
  2. Riptide
  3. Doubt Me
  4. The Better Me (feat. Hardy)
  5. Might Love Myself
  6. Sunshine!
  7. What’s Killing You
  8. Look The Other Way
  9. What Are You Waiting For
  10. My New Reality
  11. I Was Alive