The forthcoming record ‘History Books’ arrives in October

The Gaslight Anthem live 2022
The Gaslight Anthem [Matt Bishop/The Rock Revival]

The Gaslight Anthem have confirmed their upcoming album History Books. The record arrives on October 27 via Rich Mahogany Recordings. Additionally, the band revealed Friday the music video for the title track, which features fellow New Jersey legend Bruce Springsteen. Stream the official clip below, directed by Kelsey Hunter Ayres.

“When Bruce Springsteen said I should write a duet for us, I think my head exploded,” says frontman Brian Fallon. “It will never get old to me that one of the greatest songwriters in the world, and one of my hero’s voices, will forever be captured in a song I wrote at a small wooden desk, in October, in New Jersey.”

The new song “History Books” follows the album’s lead single “Positive Charge” which premiered back in April. The band’s upcoming sixth studio album was produced by GRAMMY® Award-winner Peter Katis (The National, Kurt Vile) at his Tarquin Studios in Bridgeport, Connecticut. It will be available on 180g gatefold black vinyl, exclusive “10 Bands/One Cause” pink vinyl, CD, and digital download. The band has also put together several bundles that include a hat, t-shirt, and work jacket. Fans can pre-order now HERE.

Looking towards the band’s next chapter, Fallon says, “When you have a band reach any level of success or popularity, that’s a gift. It’s truly a miracle to be able to do your art for a living. Having the band come this far and be able to still find inspiration and connection in our music is a treasure. We’re thrilled to be back, and we thank our fans for allowing us time to regroup.”

Speaking about the new record, Fallon states, “None of us wanted to make a very somber or serious record showing how much we’ve matured. We’ve all changed and grown and learned so much, but the overall mood was a feeling of excitement to be back together and making music that means something to us.”

The Gaslight Anthem are headlining the Four Chord Music Festival in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania on August 13. They have a featured slot at Bourbon and Beyond in Louisville, Kentucky on September 15. From there, the band has a string of headlining shows that wraps up on October 8 at the Knitting Factory in Spokane, Washington.

Last fall, The Gaslight Anthem mounted their first tour in 7 years. The comeback trek culminated with a hometown show at the PNC Bank Arts Center in Holmdel, New Jersey on a crisp autumn night. When the tour ended, the band hit the studio to begin working on their first new album since 2014’s Get Hurt. Released via Island Records, the album peaked at No. 4 on the Billboard 200. It also topped the Billboard Alternative Albums Chart and hit No. 2 on the Rock Albums Chart.

On July 8, The Gaslight Anthem played a special one-off show at the Prudential Center with fellow New Jersey natives The Misfits.

The Gaslight Anthem – History Books [Rich Mahogany Recordings, 2023]

1. Spider Bites
2. History Books (feat. Bruce Springsteen)
3. Autumn
4. Positive Charge
5. Michigan, 1975
6. Little Fires
7. The Weatherman
8. Empires
9. I Live In the Room Above Her
10. A Lifetime of Preludes