The band’s forthcoming album ‘Maryland House’ arrives January 27

The Crystal Casino Band [Cagla Akcadag]

The Crystal Casino Band have revealed the music video for their new single “City That Sleeps.” The track is from the band’s forthcoming album Maryland House which arrives on January 27. Stream the official clip now below.

“We’re excited to share the official music video for ‘City That Sleeps,’ which focuses on the second verse’s vignette of Emily and Jane,” explains guitarist and vocalist Jarrod Hendricks. “Their close friendship harbors deeper emotions than those of a platonic nature for Jane and she struggles how to confess these feelings to Emily, all the while daydreaming of what their life could be like together.”

On February 9, the band will play a special album release show at the legendary 9:30 Club in Washington, D.C. Tickets are on sale now HERE. Additionally, there are two more shows on the band’s itinerary so far this year in Columbus, Ohio and Chicago, Illinois.

Maryland House is The Crystal Casino Band’s most complex and varietal album to date. It’s a winding journey with unexpected turns that showcases their love for the DMV (DC/Maryland/Virginia) area and pays homage to their lives as young adults throughout a 13-song indie rock-leaning experience. The new album, produced by Kyle Downes and Jay Nemeyer (Color Palatte), showcases the artistic growth that the group has undergone since the release of their 2021 album, Not About You, and is unlike anything the four-piece has done before.

Named for the band’s favorite rest stop along I-95, Maryland House is the first TCCB record featuring each member on lead vocals as well as a variety of instruments including trumpet, ukulele, mandolin, and harmonica.

Formed in 2015 as a group of friends at the George Washington University, The Crystal Casino Band, originally named The Colonies, began their sonic journey heavily influenced by the likes of The Strokes and The Black Keys. Over the course of their college years and a few lineup changes, the band’s sound transformed to combine their initial influences with the vibes of early 2010s-era indie that littered Tumblr dashboards and increasingly introspective and socially-conscious lyrics. With this turn to introspection and social awareness, the independent quartet grew uncomfortable with their original name’s imperialist connotations and changed it to their current one in 2020.

The Crystal Casino Band – Maryland House [2023]

1. Curfew
2. Twenty-something socialist
3. Jamie
4. Sorry Not Worried
5. Boys & Girls
6. Until The Sun Comes Up
7. Talking Stage ft Divine Sweater
8. City That Sleeps
9. Wealth and Riches
10. Half Staff
11. Antlers
12. Quarter Life
13. Getting Closer