The band’s forthcoming LP ‘Hackney Diamonds’ arrives on October 20

The Rolling Stones 2023 Mark Seliger
The Rolling Stones [Mark Seliger]

The Rolling Stones have revealed another new song “Sweet Sounds of Heaven,” featuring the legendary Stevie Wonder and pop superstar Lady Gaga. The track is the second single from their forthcoming album Hackney Diamonds, following the previously released “Angry. The record is slated for release on October 20 through Polydor Records. Check out the official lyric video for “Sweet Sounds of Heaven” below now.

In addition to Stevie Wonder and Lady Gaga, The Rolling Stones recruited Elton John and Paul McCartney to play on the record. Additionally, original bassist Bill Wyman is featured on a song. This is the first time Wyman has collaborated with the group since 1989’s Steel Wheels. Wyman was a member of The Rolling Stones from 1962 to 1993. Before his departure from the group, he was inducted in to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame alongside them in 1989.

Their 23rd original studio effort, Hackney Diamonds will also be The Rolling Stones’ first album without founding drummer Charlie Watts who passed away at 80 in August of 2021. During a live-streaming event hosted by The Tonight Show‘s Jimmy Fallon, the band revealed that two tracks on the album – “Mess It Up” and “Live by the Sword” – were recorded in 2019 with Watts on drums.

“Ever since Charlie’s gone, it’s different,” guitarist Keith Richards said during the event. “He’s ‘Number Four.’”

The album’s cover art and tracklisting can be found below. It will be available in several formats including standard black vinyl, limited edition blue vinyl with alternate cover, limited edition CD + Blu-Ray box set, limited edition t-shirt or hat CD digipacks, standard CD, and CD digipack. The lead single “Angry” is also getting a physical release on CD, 7-inch red vinyl, and 10-inch black vinyl.

Fans can pre-order physical versions and pre-save for streaming now HERE.

To commemorate the release, the band has also curated a special merchandise line featuring Hackney Diamonds t-shirts, hoodies, a bomber jacket, a diamond-shaped whiskey glass, vinyl record drink coasters, an album lithograph, and much more.

Reportedly recorded in Los Angeles, California, The Rolling Stones’ new album was helmed by GRAMMY®-winning producer Andrew Watt. Watt, who won Producer of the Year at the 2021 GRAMMY® Awards, was behind the control panel for Ozzy Osbourne’s award-winning 2022 LP Patient No. 9. Recently, Watt has also worked with the likes of Post Malone, Maroon 5, and Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder, among others. For Hackney Diamonds, The Stones’ longtime musical director Steve Jordan reportedly plays drums on the album.

The Stones’ last studio outing was 2005’s A Bigger Bang. Four singles were released from the record – “Streets of Love, “Rough Justice,” “Rain Fall Down,” and “Biggest Mistake.” It peaked at No. 2 on the UK Albums Chart, and No. 3 on the Billboard 200. It was certified platinum in the U.S. by the RIAA. 

In 2016, the band released Blue & Lonesome, an album of blues covers.

In 2020, The Rolling Stones were forced to cancel their No Filter Tour in America due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The dates were rescheduled, slated to start in September 0f 2021. After the death of Charlie Watts, who sat behind The Stones’ kit for more than half a century, the band decided to go ahead with the tour. The band’s longtime musical director Steve Jordan stepped in to play drums, at the request of Watts ahead of his passing.

The Rolling Stones Hackney Diamonds album cover art

The Rolling Stones – Hackney Diamonds [Polydor Records, 2023]

1. Angry
2. Get Close (featuring Elton John)
3. Depending on You
4. Bite My Head Off (featuring Paul McCartney)
5. Whole Wide World
6. Dreamy Skies
7. Mess It Up (with Charlie Watts)
8. Live by the Sword (with Charlie Watts, featuring Elton John and Bill Wyman)
9. Driving Me Too Hard
10. Tell Me Straight
11. Sweet Sounds of Heaven (featuring Stevie Wonder, Lady Gaga)
12. Rolling Stone Blues
13. Living in a Ghost Town [Japan Bonus Track]