Multi-platinum metal monsters Disturbed have returned from a four-year hiatus. After taking time off to rest, revive, and work on other projects, the band have announced a brand new studio album. The new disc Immortalized will hit shelves on August 21 via Reprise Records. Today the band premiered the album’s first single “The Vengeful One” which can be streamed above. Cover art and tracklisting can be found below. The new album is the long-awaited follow up to Disturbed’s 2010 effort Asylum, which was the band’s fourth consecutive #1 debut on the Billboard Top 200.

“The idea was to leave when we were at our peak, which we were, and to come back when we felt reinvigorated,” says frontman David Draiman. “We had basically been going nonstop since 1998,” adds drummer Mike Wengren. “We got to do our own things. It didn’t take too long until the itch started coming back.” Guitarist Dan Donegan states, “We wanted to return when we collectively had that fire underneath us. We missed it so much that we could tap into this energy and deliver the right album. We did it on our own terms.”

unnamed (5)In January 2014, Draiman, Donegan, and Wengren met for dinner in their hometown of Chicago. Shortly thereafter, without notifying friends, families, or their label, the three began to fly back and forth to each other’s respective home studios for writing sessions, marking the beginnings of Immortalized and the first time they collectively wrote together since 2001.

The band chose to work with Kevin Churko, who’s been the top hard rock producer over the last few years. He’s produced hit records for the likes of Five Finger Death Punch, Papa Roach, Korn, Slash, Rob Zombie, and Ozzy Osbourne. “For this album, everything was written in the same room,” Draiman remarks. “It was wonderful experiencing how it used to be back in the day for us. That became apparent in the material, whether it was the passion of the performance, the power being harnessed, or the feelings evoked. We could feel the difference.”

“I think the fans will feel like it was worth the wait,” says Donegan. “We’ve been planning this for the past year and keeping it a secret so we can’t wait to hear the response. I hope fans realize we have a lot more left in us. This album reassured me of that. To be away from it for almost 5 years, get back in a room, write together, and tap into that fire is awesome. Part of me didn’t want to leave the studio! We still have a lot more to say. We still have a lot more to do. We’re returning stronger than ever. I think Immortalized shows that.”

Disturbed formed in Chicago in 1996. Since then, they’ve gone on to sell over 12 million albums worldwide. They’ve penned nine #1 Active Rock singles and released four consecutive albums that all debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200, an achievement they share only with Metallica and Dave Matthews Band. In 2009, Disturbed were nominated for the Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock Performance for “Inside The Fire.” In 2011, the band headlined the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival. – by Matt Bishop


unnamed (4)

1. The Eye Of The Storm
2. Immortalized
3. The Vengeful One
4. Open Your Eyes
5. The Light
6. What Are You Waiting For
7. You’re Mine
8. Who
9. Save Our Last Goodbye
10. Fire It Up
11. The Sound of Silence
12. Never Wrong
13. Who Taught You How To Hate
14. Tyrant*
15. Legion of Monsters*
16. The Brave And The Bold*
*Deluxe Edition