The band will play small venues in select cities around the world this fall

Muse Simulation Theory Tour
Muse [Matt Bishop Photo]

Muse have revealed the title track of long-awaited ninth studio album Will of the People. It is the third track that the band has revealed from their forthcoming full-length release. Stream the official music video for “Will of the People” now below.

The LP is scheduled to arrive on August 26 via Warner Records.

This fall, Muse will play a string of select live shows at intimate venues around the globe. The trek begins in Los Angeles, CA on October 4 at The Wiltern and will see the band perform in Chicago, New York, Toronto, Milan, Amsterdam, and Paris. Check out the full routing below.

For presale access to the European shows, pre-order Will Of The People from the Official Store before Monday 20 June at 5pm BST to receive a unique presale code. Please note that receiving a presale code does not guarantee the ability to purchase tickets. Presale for the European shows will begin on Tuesday, June 21 at 10am local time. 

For presale access to the North American shows, sign in to your Members account for a unique code. To be eligible for a code, you must have created a Members account prior to May 26, 2022. Please note that Members presale codes will not be visible until Tuesday, June 21. Presale for the North American shows will begin on Wednesday, June 22 at 10am local time. 

General on sale for all dates will start Friday, June 24 at 10am local. 

To combat touts, there will be a strict four ticket limit for all shows & all tickets will be non-transferrable

Fans can pre-order Will of the People now HERE and receive “Compliance” and “Won’t Stand Down” as instant downloads. The album will be released on digital, black vinyl and CD, as well as a selection of collectible formats. These include a marbled double-vinyl which is available exclusively from the band’s official store.

Will of the People was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world,” frontman Matt Bellamy says of the album. “A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests & riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order all informed Will Of The People. It has been a worrying and scary time for all of us as the Western empire and the natural world, which have cradled us for so long are genuinely threatened. This album is a personal navigation through those fears and preparation for what comes next.” 

With Muse being Muse, there is no bowing to any singular genre. The album’s title track “Will Of The People” brings playful provocation to a dystopian glam-rocker while there is an innocence and a purity to the nostalgic electronic textures of “Verona.” From the visceral thrill of “Won’t Stand Down,” to the industrial-tinged, granite heavy riffs of “Kill Or Be Killed,” or the lightning-bolt rush of “Euphoria,” the album concludes with the frenetic finale of the brutally honest “We Are Fucking Fucked.”  

On the band’s new single “Compliance,” Bellamy says, “‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group. Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms & religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with. They sell us comforting myths, telling us only they can explain reality while simultaneously diminishing our freedom, autonomy and independent thought. We are not just coerced, we are herded, frightened and corralled to produce a daily ‘2 minutes of hate’ against an out-group of their choosing and to turn a blind eye to our own internal voice of reason & compassion. They just need our Compliance.”

Will of the People was produced by Muse. Key collaborators include mixing on eight tracks by the multiple Grammy Award winner Serban Ghenea; mixing from Dan Lancaster on “Won’t Stand Down,” and additional mixing on “Kill Or Be Killed” from Aleks von Korff; Will Of The People is now available to pre-order HERE, with “Compliance” and “Won’t Stand Down” provided as instant downloads. It will be released on digital, black vinyl and CD, as well as a selection of collectible formats. These include a marbled double-vinyl which is available exclusively from the band’s official store.

Muse is Matt Bellamy, Dominic Howard and Chris Wolstenholme. Their last album, Simulation Theory, debuted at #1 in multiple territories and marked the band’s sixth straight album to debut in the U.K top spot. Their previous studio album, Drones, went on to win a Grammy Award for Best Rock Album, the band’s second. 

Since forming in 1994, Muse have released eight studio albums, selling over 20 million units worldwide.  Widely recognized as one of the best live bands in the world, Muse have won numerous music awards including two Grammy Awards, an American Music Award, five MTV Europe Music Awards, two Brit Awards, eleven NME Awards and seven Q Awards, amongst others. 

Muse 2022 tour dates

Muse – Will of the People World Tour

October 4 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
October 11 – Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
October 14 – Toronto, ON @ History
October 16 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre
October 23 – Amsterdam, NL @ Royal Theatre Carre
October 25 – Paris, FR @ Salle Pleyel
October 26 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz