The storied songwriter wrote the new track while on tour with The Killers

Johnny Marr has announced a brand new compilation album, Spirit Power: The Best of Johnny Marr. The new collection is comprised of personally curated songs from the last decade of Marr’s solo career. Additionally, the album contains two all-new tracks – “The Answer” and “Somewhere,” the latter of which was released on Wednesday. Stream the official video for “Somewhere” below now.

I’ve played a lot of arenas over the years, and in terms of songwriting, there’s nowhere to hide,” Marr said. “For a song to work, it has to be a banger. I know it’s almost uncool to think in those terms, but I grew up in a house where my parents listened to Motown, where you couldn’t get a song released if it wasn’t full of hooks.”

The forthcoming Spirit Power: The Best of Johnny Marr arrives on November 3 through BMG. The album will be available on heavyweight 2-LP vinyl, CD, and a limited Deluxe 2-CD featuring additional material. Independent record shops have a limited gold 2-LP vinyl, while HMV will carry a limited Cobalt blue 2-LP. Fans can pre-order HERE. An exclusive limited double picture disc plus merchandise bundles will be available from the official Johnny Marr store HERE.

Later this fall, Marr will be publishing Marr’s Guitars – a stunning new photography book. Following his 2016 autobiography “Set The Boy Free,” Johnny describes Marr’s Guitars as “a guitar book for people who wouldn’t usually own a guitar book.” Featuring contributions from Noel Gallagher, Bernard Butler and Ed O’Brien, the book offers a portal into the symbiotic relationship between Johnny and the guitars that have informed not just the last decade, but the lifetime evolution of his iconic sound. With personal reflections and insights written by Johnny Marr, foreword written by Hans Zimmer and photographs shot by Pat Graham, each guitar is identified with a crucial moment, a specific song, and each embodies a key aspect of Marr’s lifelong passion for songwriting.

Johnny Marr – Spirit Power: The Best of Johnny Marr [BMG, 2023]

  1. Armatopia
  2. New Town Velocity
  3. Easy Money
  4. Spirit Power & Soul
  5. Hi Hello
  6. Somewhere
  7. The Messenger
  8. I Feel You
  9. The Answer
  10. Dynamo
  11. Spiral Cities
  12. Night and Day
  13. Sensory Street
  14. Walk Into The Sea
  15. Candidate
  16. Tenement Time
  17. Hi Hello (Demo)
  18. Somewhere (Demo)
  19. The Answer (Crazy F Version)
  20. The Messenger (Demo)
  21. Speak out Reach Out (Crazy F Version)